City Council

Regular Meetings

  • 7:00 p.m. on the 3rd Tuesday of each month
    Special Sessions will be scheduled as needed. Sometimes it is necessary to move a Regular meeting date. Please always check the calendar for the latest information.
  • Council Chambers in City Hall
    405 Municipal Drive  |  Kennedale TX 76060
  • View or subscribe to meeting agendas

Council Composition

The City Council consists of six members — a Mayor and five council members who are elected at-large and each serve two-year terms. There are no term limits. The Mayor presides at meetings and is recognized as the head of the city government. The Mayor has the right to vote only in the event of a tie, but does have veto power. The City Council members elect one member as Mayor Pro Tem to preside over meetings in the Mayor's absence. The Mayor Pro Tem retains the right to vote. Current City Council members are listed below.

Council Responsibilities

All powers of the city are vested in the City Council. Council exercises these powers to ensure the performance of all duties and obligations imposed on the city by law and the city's own Home Rule Charter. The City Council's powers include, but are not limited to:
  • Enacting municipal legislation.
  • Appointing, electing, or removing persons appointed or elected by the Council.
  • Establishing compensation rates for all city officers.
  • Creating, changing, or abolishing offices and agencies created by the Charter;
  • Assigning duties and powers to city officers, departments, and agencies.
  • Establishing operating policy.
  • Establishing the city boundaries.
Name Place Term
Brian Johnson
Mayor 2018-2020
Josh Altom
Place 1
Chris Pugh
Place 2
Sandra Lee
Place 3, Mayor Pro Tem
Linda Rhodes
Place 4
Chad Wandel Place 5

Addressing the City Council

The City Council is interested in the concerns of all residents and welcomes their input on the issues facing our community. Anyone can address Council by submitting a "Speaker Request Form" before the start of a Regular Meeting. These forms are available on a table as you walk into Council Chambers. See the "Visitor and Citizen Forum" section below for more information.

An agenda is prepared for each regular or special meeting and is posted in the lobby of City Hall and online at least 72 hours prior to the meeting. Find out more about Open Government (including Texas' Open Meetings Act and Public Information Act) at the Attorney General's website

Council Meetings Typically Consist Of:

  • Work Session at 5:30 p.m.
    This is the time when the City Council receives information from staff, advisory boards, or consultants, but does not take action.
  • Regular Session at 7:00 p.m.
    This is when the City Council considers and takes action on proposed projects or ordinances.
    • Roll Call
      For the council to act, a quorum (three members, not counting the Mayor) must be present.
    • Invocation
      If you'd be interested in offering the invocation at an upcoming meeting, please email the City Secretary.
    • Pledges of Allegiance to the Unites States and Texas flags
    • Visitor and Citizen Forum
      At this time, any person may address the City Council, provided that a ‘Speaker Request Form’ is submitted to the City Secretary before the Regular Session begins (at 7:00 p.m.). Speakers are allotted three (3) minutes, should begin by stating their full name and address for the records, must limit their comments to the subject indicated on the submitted form, and should address the Council as a whole, rather than individual Councilmembers or staff. Please understand that due to Open Meeting Act requirements, Council is unable to discuss or take action on the items you present during the current meeting (see Section Sec. 551.042of the Texas Local Government Code).Those wishing to speak about an agenda item should indicate as much on the “Speaker Request Form” and will be called upon to speak when the Council considers that item.
    • Reports and Announcements
      In addition to any items listed on the agenda, the Mayor and Councilmembers may give or receive reports regarding items of community interest, including, but not limited to, recognition of officials, citizens, staff, or departments; information regarding holiday schedules; and upcoming or attended events.
    • Monitoring Information
      Presentation of monthly financials
    • Required Approval Items (Consent Agenda)
      Consent items are matters that have appeared on previous agendas, require little or no deliberation, or are considered routine (e.g., minutes approval). These are bundled into a single item in order to expedite the meeting. However, tems can be moved from the Consent Agenda for discussion at the request of any single Councilmember.
    • Decision Items
      This portion of the meeting includes public hearings, proposed ordinances, and items forwarded from Advisory Boards for consideration. Council will discuss and act upon each item individually. Anyone wishing to speak on an item that includes a "Public Hearing" should submit a "Speaker Request Form" form to the City Secretary before the Regular Session begins (at 7:00 p.m.).
    • Executive Session (Closed)
      Council may meet in closed session at any time during the work session or the regular session, pursuant to Section 551.071 of the Texas Government Code for consultation with the City Attorney pertaining to any matter in which the duty of the City Attorney under the Texas Disciplinary Rules of Professional Conduct may conflict with the Open Meetings Act, including discussion on any item posted on the agenda.
    • Reconvene into Open Session and Take Action Necessary Pursuant to Executive Session
    • Adjournment